Hippy Times #14 šŸ‹šŸ»ā€ā™€ļø

Saturday morning ā€“ I havenā€™t slept well again. Ā The bed is too soft I have decided. Ā I also have decided to cease taking the cortisol tablets as I think they may be contributing to my problem or perhaps I have just got into the habit of waking.

I phone the Dr’s surgery to check on how I get my dressing changed when the time comes and the lovely receptionist says that Dr Small will do it so I donā€™t need to make an appointment with the nurse ā€“ makes life a whole lot easier.

The gym is opening at 8 am ā€“ meeting Lexi there for a sessionā€“ canā€™t wait. Ā I walk slowly up to the gym and my leg is feeling better than ever ā€“ remind myself not to get too confident and just take it slowly. Ā Nice slow heavy chest session today with Lexi and a few squats on the Smith machine ā€“ no added weight for me but we load it up for Lexi.

Training complete, itā€™s back home to have breakfast with David before he goes off for his first walk of the day. Ā When David goes off, I decide to go in search of a pedicure. Ā Walk back up to Oxford Village shopping centre and get a really good pedicure from California Nailsā€“ nice and handy. Ā I pop into Aldi ā€“ not somewhere I have really shopped before but they have some good stuff in there at good prices so I am quite impressed. Ā Canā€™t buy much though as I donā€™t have the shopping trolley with me and canā€™t carry a huge amount when I have the walking stick as well.

Lexi went to Health Nuts at Kings Cross for me to buy me some Creatine as I had run out so she is on her way over with that. Ā Sheā€™s been to East Village to get her nails done and stopped at the deli style shop there and bought herself some fresh bread and caviar. Ā This is her breakfast so I make coffee and we sit in the courtyard while she eats breakfast and we chat.

David comes back from his walk and asked me if I wanted lunch ā€“ I feel as though I only just had breakfast so he makes do with a fruit salad.

Iā€™m feeling really good today, the hip is improving so well, I am so impressed. Ā Have found a series called The Crown on Netflix which our dear friends Phill and Viv said they enjoyed immensely so David and I have decided to watch a couple of episodes this afternoon. Ā It really is very good and I text Phill and Viv to thank them for the recommendation. Ā Viv calls shortly after and we chat about all things hippy and about all the stuff they are getting up to in their new home in Hobart, Tasmania. Ā They are doing tourist things and have joined a ā€˜meet upā€™ group and are making new friends. Ā They are really happy down there ā€“ it was a good move for them.

David returns from his second walk of the day and we spend the evening with a lovely curry.

Sunday ā€“ all my days are mixed up, not sure what day of the week it is ā€“ it hasnā€™t really mattered the last two weeks as I havenā€™t been working so thereā€™s been no need to focus on it ā€“ freedom!

We have decided to go to the Sydney Fish Market today ā€“ havenā€™t been there in the longest time but saw an ad on TV with yummy prawns so thought we would take a trip out and get some lunch there.

We have an early breakfast then I go to the gym and David is off on his walk. Ā I am doing some very very light leg work today. Ā Pin loaded machines set at their very lightest ā€“ feels strange but mustnā€™t be tempted to push it. Ā Towards the end of the session my hip feels a little tired so I simply finish the last two sets as body weight exercises. Ā Then, itā€™s off for a 20 minute walk on the treadmill ā€“ just gently at 5 kms per hour. Ā It feels good to be doing some cardio or should I say a token gesture to some cardio. Ā It will come in time I know, so I just have to be patient.

We head to the fish markets on the bus ā€“ thereā€™s a bus at the bottom of the road that takes us almost to the entrance of the market so not too much walking either end. Ā True to form, the market is absolutely packed ā€“ there are heaps of people everywhere and coach loads of tourists ā€“ everyone is vying for a spot to perch down and eat their lobster, prawns, oysters etc. Ā Itā€™s a little nerve wracking as itā€™s so busy and I really donā€™t want to be knocked on my ā€˜badā€™ side so Iā€™m being quite protective of it. Ā The floors are also really wet so itā€™s a good job I have rubber thongs, Iā€™m walking gingerly so as not to slip up.

We decide that the experience of buying food and eating it there at the market is really not that pleasant! Ā Firstly, thereā€™s not really anywhere to sit unless you hover over people waiting for them to finish and then pounce. Ā Secondly, Iā€™m not a big fan of seagulls on the table šŸ˜Š. Ā We decide to buy prawns, anchovies, caviar and some fresh bread rolls and take it home to our little courtyard to enjoy with a cold glass of rose. Ā Thatā€™s much more pleasurable.

The rest of the day is spent lazing in the sun and reading.

This has been such a good recovery weekend so far ā€“ we may risk the Easter show for a few hours tomorrow ā€“ letā€™s see.

Hippy Times šŸ‹šŸ»ā€ā™€ļø

PS: If you want to get an insight from David then follow our To Senija Blog,

Leave a comment